Home > Knowledge > Content

What's the Main Type of Stainless Steel?

Jul 31, 2019

Main type of stainless steel:

Stainless steel is often classified according to the state of the organization: martensitic steel, ferritic steel, austenitic steel, austenitic-ferritic (duplex) stainless steel and precipitation hardened stainless steel. In addition, it can be divided into: chromium stainless steel, chrome nickel stainless steel and chromium manganese nitrogen stainless steel. There is also a special stainless steel for pressure vessels "GB24511_2009_ stainless steel plate and steel strip for pressure equipment".

Antibacterial stainless steel

Tested by an authoritative unit, the antibacterial stainless steel showed excellent broad-spectrum antibacterial and antibacterial durability.

It is in full compliance with national technical standards in terms of toxicity and human safety. While imparting antibacterial properties to stainless steel, the properties of the material such as mechanics, corrosion resistance, hot and cold processing, and welding are comparable to those of the original stainless steel.


Precipitation hardening stainless steel

With good formability and good weldability, it can be used as an ultra-high strength material in the nuclear industry, aerospace and aerospace industries.

According to the composition, it can be classified into a Cr system (400 series), a Cr-Ni system (300 series), a Cr-Mn-Ni (200 series), a heat-resistant chromium alloy steel (500 series), and a precipitation hardening system (600 series).

200 Series: Chromium-Manganese-Nickl, including 201,202.

201,202, etc.: With manganese-nickel, the corrosion resistance is relatively poor, and it is widely used as a cheap substitute.

300 Series: Chrome-Nick Austenitic Stainless Steel, including 301,302,303,304,309,316,321,347

304: Universal model; ie 18/8 stainless steel. Products such as: corrosion resistant containers, tableware, furniture, railings, medical equipment. The standard ingredient is 18% chromium plus 8% nickel. It is a non-magnetic stainless steel that cannot change its metallurgical structure by heat treatment. The GB grade is 0Cr18Ni9.

304 L: Same characteristics as 304, but it is more resistant to corrosion and heat treatment due to low carbon, but it is mechanically poor. It is suitable for welding and heat treatment.

304 N: Same characteristics as 304. It is a nitrogen-containing stainless steel. Nitrogen is added to increase the strength of the steel.

316: Following 304, the second most widely used steel grade is used in the food industry, watch accessories, the pharmaceutical industry and surgical equipment, adding molybdenum to give it a special structure that resists corrosion. It is also used as "ship steel" because it has better resistance to chloride corrosion than 304. SS316 is commonly used in nuclear fuel recovery units. 18/10 grade stainless steel also generally meets this application level.

316 L: It is more resistant to corrosion and heat treatment due to low carbon. Products such as chemical processing equipment, nuclear power generators, and refrigerant storage.

400 series: ferritic and martensitic stainless steel, no manganese, to some extent replace 304 stainless steel, including 408,409,410,416,420,430,440

500 series: heat-resistant chrome alloy steel.

600 series: martensitic precipitation hardening stainless steel.

Our main materials of sanitary fittings are 316ss, threaded fittings and buttweld fittings are 304ss,  flexible hoses are 304ss. Which are all exported to European countries, South America, North America, Southeast Asia. Welcome to contact us by e-mail: sales@cx-hoses-fittings.com. Thanks.